2017 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Winners Announced

AQR Capital Management and Copenhagen Business School proudly announce the winners of the 2017 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award. Six Ph.D. students from leading universities around the world are this year’s award recipients. They are:

• Simona Abis, Ph.D., INSEAD
• Jessica Jeffers, Ph.D., Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
• Moritz Lenel, Ph.D., Stanford University
• Pascal Noel, Ph.D., Harvard University
• Emily Williams, Ph.D., London Business School
• Alexander K. Zentefis, Ph.D., University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Now in its fifth year, the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at Copenhagen Business School (CBS) recognizes those Ph.D. graduates specializing in financial economics whose dissertation and broader research carry the greatest potential impact in both practice and academia. Winners are determined by a committee of renowned academics.

David Kabiller, CFA, Co-founder at AQR Capital Management, the sponsor of the award, commented: “As a firm, we are deeply connected to the global academic community. We are pleased to recognize the most promising Ph.D. students from around the world through this award and congratulate this year’s award recipients on their accomplishments.”

The committee, which is chaired by AQR Principal Lasse H. Pedersen, a professor at the Copenhagen Business School, conducts an independent search of business schools and economic departments across the globe to seek out top candidates for the award. Candidates cannot apply for the annual award.

“We enjoy the process of identifying and recognizing rising scholars for their creativity, intellectual rigour, and academic excellence,” said Lasse H. Pedersen. “Their research provides new grounds for discussion and debate in academia, the finance industry, and central banks. We look forward to the presentation of the research and awards at Copenhagen Business School.”

The AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Selection Committee includes Nicholas Barberis of the Yale University School of Management; Patrick Bolton of the Columbia University Graduate School of Business and Department of Economics; Darrell Duffie of the Stanford University Graduate School of Business; Ralph Koijen of the New York University Stern School of Business; Toby Moskowitz, AQR Principal and Professor at the Yale School of Management; Michael R. Roberts, Professor of Finance at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania; David S. Scharfstein of the Harvard Business School; Annette Vissing-Jørgensen of the University of California at Berkeley.

For more information about the award, click here.

This document has been provided to you solely for information purposes and does not constitute an offer or solicitation of an offer or any advice or recommendation to purchase any securities or other financial instruments and may not be construed as such. AQR and Copenhagen Business School are not affiliated..