2018 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Winners Announced

Leading Ph.D. Graduates From Around the World Honored At Copenhagen Business School

AQR Capital Management and Copenhagen Business School proudly announce the winners of the 2018 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award. Seven Ph.D. students from leading universities around the world are this year’s award recipients. They are:

  • Laura Blattner, Harvard University
  • Emanuele Colonnelli, Stanford University
  • Niels Joachim Gormsen, Copenhagen Business School
  • Kilian Huber, London School of Economics
  • Yueran Ma, Harvard University
  • Yiming Ma, Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Scott Nelson, MIT Economics

Now in its sixth year, the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at Copenhagen Business School (CBS) recognizes those Ph.D. graduates specializing in financial economics whose dissertations and broader research carry the greatest potential impact in both practice and academia. Winners are determined by a committee of renowned academics. 

David Kabiller, CFA, Co-founder at AQR Capital Management, the sponsor of the award, commented: “We are pleased to once again recognize research that challenges the status quo, uncovers new insights and contributes to the advancement of the field of financial economics. We congratulate this year’s award recipients on their impressive achievements to date, and look forward to seeing all that they will accomplish over the course of their careers.” 

 The committee, which is chaired by AQR Principal Lasse H. Pedersen, a professor at the Copenhagen Business School, conducts an independent search of business schools and economic departments across the globe to seek out top candidates for the award.  

“Each year we look forward to the rigorous process of selecting the most innovative finance Ph.D.s with the most forward-thinking dissertations,” said Lasse H. Pedersen. “Their presentations at Copenhagen Business School provide a great opportunity to convene the award winners who all play a role in furthering academic debate and answering important practical issues facing the world of finance.” 

 The AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Selection Committee includes Nicholas Barberis of the Yale University School of Management; Patrick Bolton of the Columbia University Graduate School of Business and Department of Economics; Darrell Duffie of the Stanford University Graduate School of Business; Ralph Koijen of the New York University Stern School of Business; Toby Moskowitz, AQR Principal and Professor at the Yale School of Management; Michael R. Roberts, Professor of Finance at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania; David S. Scharfstein of the Harvard Business School; Annette Vissing-Jørgensen of the University of California at Berkeley. 

 The presentations will take place at Copenhagen Business School on June 8, 2018.

 Learn more about the award here.

This document has been provided to you solely for information purposes and does not constitute an offer or solicitation of an offer or any advice or recommendation to purchase any securities or other financial instruments and may not be construed as such. AQR and Copenhagen Business School are not affiliated.