AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Winners Announced

May 13, 2016

Copenhagen Business School and AQR Capital Management, LLC (AQR) today announced the winners of the 2016 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award. Six Ph.D. students from leading universities around the world are this year’s award recipients. They are:

  • Asaf Bernstein, MIT Sloan School of Business
  • Arpit Gupta, Columbia Business School
  • Elisabeth Kempf, Tilburg University
  • Song Ma, Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business
  • David Schoenherr, London Business School
  • Michael Schwert, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Now in its fourth year, the AQR Top Finance Graduate Award at Copenhagen Business School (CBS) recognises those Ph.D. graduates whose dissertation and broader research carry the greatest potential impact in both practice and academia. Winners are determined by a committee of renowned academics.


“We are pleased to once again recognise the most promising Ph.D. students from around the world through this award,” said David Kabiller, CFA, Founding Principal at AQR Capital Management, the sponsor of the award. “We congratulate them on this accomplishment, and look forward to all they will achieve in their careers.”

The committee, which is chaired by AQR Principal Lasse H. Pedersen, a professor at the Copenhagen Business School, conducts an independent search of business schools and economic departments across the globe to seek out top candidates for the award. Candidates cannot apply for the annual award. The winners share a prize of $10,000.

“We are excited to welcome this amazing group of young creative minds from all over the world,” said Lasse H. Pedersen. “Their research provides new, important insights on a broad range of topics. We are delighted to present the 2016 AQR Top Finance Graduate Award to these six talented Ph.D. students.”

The AQR Top Finance Graduate Award Selection Committee includes Nicholas Barberis of the Yale University School of Management; Patrick Bolton of the Columbia University Graduate School of Business and Department of Economics; Darrell Duffie of the Stanford University Graduate School of Business; Ralph Koijen of the London Business School; Toby Moskowitz, AQR Principal and Professor at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business; Michael R. Roberts, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania; David S. Scharfstein of the Harvard Business School; Annette Vissing-Jørgensen of the University of California, Berkeley.

The winners will present their research on 30 May at an event hosted by the Center for Financial Frictions (FRIC) and the Department of Finance at Copenhagen Business School.


This document has been provided to you solely for information purposes and does not constitute an offer or solicitation of an offer or any advice or recommendation to purchase any securities or other financial instruments and may not be construed as such. AQR and Copenhagen Business School are not affiliated.